Slum Village - Evolution




This product is currently sold out.

This item is currently not in store at the moment, please fill in the form below to see if we can get it for you.

Ne’Astra Music is proud to announce the release of Evolution, the new Slum
Village album. Evolution is the long-anticipated release coming on the heels of
the critically acclaimed mix tapes “Dirty Slums” and “Dirty Slums 2.” This album
features new music from founding member T3 along with Young RJ and Illa J.
The group was founded in the early 90s by three childhood friends: Baatin, T3, rapper and producer
J Dilla, who all grew up together in the Conant Gardens neighborhood of Detroit, MI. After leaving
Pershing High School, the trio began to forge a path into the Detroit underground hip hop scene and
quickly found themselves steadily gaining popularity, where they originally went by the name
Even though the group has suffered many heartaches and member changes over the years, Slum
Village always finds a way to reinvent its brand. As the group has persevered despite the struggles
over the years, it was only natural that the inspiration for this album title paid tribute to Slum Village’s
enduring quality. The meaning of Evolution can be described as “a continuous change to a higher,
more complex or better state” and that is exactly what Slum Village has ascribed to with their music
over the years, culminating with this new album. The Evolution of Slum Village continues with a
reinvigorated energy, as founding member T3 holds down the legacy along with the
Grammy-nominated producer Young RJ as well as young prodigy Illa J at his side.
Evolution also includes the talents and skills of Havoc(of Mobb Deep), Raheem Devaughn, Jazzy Jeff
and Rapper Big Pooh, amongst others. The album was produced by T3, Young RJ and FOCUS.

Share this

Pin Post

Similar Products