Yabby You - Deeper Roots Part 2




This product is currently sold out.

This item is currently not in store at the moment, please fill in the form below to see if we can get it for you.

Deeper Roots part 2 (following PS77) takes up the mantle of exploring Yabby You's extensive back catalogue and is packed with previously unreleased mixes of one of the most maverick of Jamaican producers.

Yabby You began his musical career in the early 1970s just as a new wave of Jamaican artists and producers were starting to dominate the local music scene. Vivian Jackson aka known as Yabby You was born in Kingston in 1946. One of seven children he had originally earned a living working in a foundry that made Dutch Cooking pots. When he was 17 he had become seriously ill with malnutrition and then developed severe arthritis. Following this he has made a living out of picking racehorse winners. Eventually he moved into making and releasing his own records. From the very beginning his music stood outside of the mainstream of reggae music. Thematically it was subtly different from the rasta infused sound that was holding sway in the Kingston ghetto at this time. Always a maverick his music was contentious and passionate and caused a great deal of debate amongst the musical fraternity.

Deeper Roots Part 2 focuses on the more instrumental and dub infused productions of Yabby You and has many exclusive mixes. Some of the tracks were given directly to Pressure Sounds by Yabby and some have come from exclusive dubplates. "Sipping I & I Chalice" is an overlooked gem that was only ever previously released on 45. "Thirty pieces of Silver" is for the most part reduced to a thundering instrumental, powerful and perfect for sound systems. Radically different from the original mix. Other standout tracks are "Psalm 16" and an alternate cut of Wayne Wades "Man of the living"

The sleevenotes are by Pete Holdsworth and focus on his own personal experiences of dealing with Yabby and his meetings with him in Jamaica. Photographs are by Pekka Vuorinen and from the estate of Yabby You. Deeper Roots part 2 has 16 tracks spread over 4 sides of vinyl and the CD comes along in a clear tray jewelcase with a fine booklet inna slipcase. Over 50 minutes worth of music and most of it exclusive to Pressure Sounds.

Tracklisting 2LP
A1. Walls of Jerusalem - Vivian Jackson & The Prophets *
A2. Thirty Pieces of Silver - Yabby You & The Prophets *
A3. Sipping I & I Chalice - Vivian Jackson & the Prophets
A4. Sipping I & I Chalice - Vivian Jackson & the Prophets
B1. Man of the Living - Wayne Wade and the Prophets *
B2. Psalm 16 - Prophets Allstars **
B3. Chant Down Babylon Kingdom - Yabby You & The Prophets *
B4. Chant Down Babylon Version - Prophets Allstars **
C1. Stop Your Quarreling - Yabby You & the Prophets *
C2. Stop Your Quarreling version – The Prophets Allstars *
C3. Outside The City Walls (Obey Your Parents) – Prophets Allstars **
C4. Jah Vengence - Vivian Jackson & The Sons of Jah *
D1. I Can’t Hide - Tony Tuff & The Prophets *
D2. I Can’t Hide version - The Prophet Allstars *
D3. Time Changing - Samuel Patterson *
D4. Mash Down (Mash Down Rome Instrumental) - Prophets Allstars **

* (indicates previously unreleased Dub plate mix)
** (indicates previously un-released mix)

Share this

Pin Post

Similar Products